London Fashion Week A/W 2013; Off Schedule- Where the Magic Happens!

IMG_0734 IMG_0732 IMG_0731 IMG_0730 IMG_0721IMG_0693

Every time I’ve been to a London Fashion Week show that I like I always wish I was one of the girls on the catwalk so I can get dressed up in the amazing clothes and makeup- even though I know I would never be able to walk in any of the shoes. Bernard Chandran really got me dreaming of strutting around in one of his outfits. I loved everything about the collection- bright colours, shimmery hues, cool shapes, luxurious silks and like a lot of the collections this season it was all very WEARABLE! Chandran like many of his peers was able to pull off a show that was striking enough to be worthy of a catwalk show but one that the audience could really relate too. If I wasn’t planning on travelling extensively this year I would definitely save up for one of his pieces!

IMG_0625  IMG_0616 IMG_0615 IMG_0608 IMG_0607 IMG_0604

Dans la Vie was one of the edgiest shows I’ve seen which I’m sure is down to the designer, Riwa Suguwara’s Japanese roots and background in print design. The collection had an interesting mix of themes including gothic crosses, and the PVC with masks brings to mind the S & M scene which seems to be influencing fashion more and more-maybe the 50 shades effect? See my interview with the designer  and beautiful illustrations  by various artists in Amelia’s magazine.

IMG_0630 IMG_0631 IMG_0633 IMG_0638 IMG_0640 IMG_0643

Carlotta Actis Barone was the simplest collection I saw in terms of colours and prints. Everything was very elegant and floaty. I’m not usually a fan of sheer skirts but it looked really classy here. They are still not a good look for everyone tough- in my humble opinion. I did another catwalk review for Amelia’s- I was really busy during London Fashion Week – hence my coverage being a bit delayed but as I say from the start better late than never!

IMG_0742  IMG_0759  IMG_0764  IMG_0769 IMG_0770  IMG_0776

Finally we have Ashley Isham– my last favourite show. It started off with really simple dresses and skirt and top combi’s that can be worn to work or transformed to party outfits with the right accessories. To give the simpler pieces an  edge they were worn with PVC tights- nuts but I think they could grow on me. Then I was really in heaven when the eveningwear came out with sequins, ruffles, layers, pleats and colorful prints. It had it all- a gown to suit all people and occasions.

I always feel a sense of pride at London Fashion Week, especially when attending off schedule shows at Vauxhall Fashion Scout and other locations. I was also mesmerized by Conchita Perez who showed in a railway tunell and Jacob Birge’s futuristic designs but will do seperate posts on these two. So that was my dreamy experience of the shows and now I am back to my reality I will try to keep these images stored in my head for whenever I need a pick me up!

4 comments

  1. Pingback: The Last of Press Week; I Want More! | The Last Straggler
  2. Pingback: London Fashion Week SS14; The Show Must Go On | The Last Straggler

Leave a Reply

