2012 Travels; South Korea!

  IMG_0779

Traditional Korean meal friends shared with 2 friends (I’m not that greedy!).

I’m so excited to finally write this post after a little break- have had a lot on with a new job and my new business; www.realmoftreasure.com, which I did a post about last year. 2013 was also the year that I fulfilled one of my dreams, visiting South Korea and Japan. I spent most of my time in South Korea, with a designer friend who showed me the coolest paces in this uber trendy country. Yes you heard right, South Korea is modern, fun, and very hip- not to be confused with North Korea which could be a separate universe. Sadly whilst the neighbouring people in North Korea endure terrible suffering with a nutjob dictactor, South Korean’s are lucky enough to enjoy a normal life and I can only hope and pray that one day the North will be the same (unlikely to be something accomplished by Dennis Rodman).  Despite the occasional threats of war from the North which aren’t really taken seriously, South Korea is extremely safe, and the people were friendly and welcoming. Seoul, the capital city has a perfect mix of old traditional heritage sites juxtaposed against a modern urban setting with an abundance of chic bars, restaurants, shopping malls and edgy architecture. Here are my South Korea highlights and my post on Japan and a mini breaks to Dubai and Paris will be coming soon.

Spicy Octopus cooked on my table

IMG_0889

Shared giant chicken and noodle dish

IMG_0794

American brunch- with green tea ice cream with waffles for an Orienal twist

IMG_0658

Traditional Korean dessert Binsu with ice cream and berries and below with Oreo cookiesIMG_1202

IMG_1186

Streetstyle

IMG_0865

IMG_0844

Fashion / vintage

IMG_0644

IMG_0988

Traditional Kanok houses

IMG_0994

IMG_0997

Beautiful Gyeongbok Palace in the city centre

IMG_1044

Close up of the palace in the day

IMG_0665

The throne

IMG_0961

Stunning traditional clothes / jewellery and ornaments from the National Museum of Korea

IMG_0680

IMG_1065

IMG_1067

IMG_1070

IMG_1105

Traditional Korean dance show

IMG_1127

IMG_1150

IMG_1163

Random English names of bars / restaurants – Loved seeing the London influence and the bizarre cat cafe (which are coming to London soon I’ve heard- the irony).

IMG_1191

IMG_0650

IMG_0651

IMG_0649

IMG_0607

Innovative interior of a restaurant

IMG_1200

Love the design of  the worlds largest church, Yoido, with over 1 million attendees.

IMG_1526

The view from my friends apartment block (my South Korean residence) roof terrace

IMG_0823

Psy is a big deal here

IMG_0631

I escaped the city to visit the amazing Spa in the mountains, Resom Spa Castle which had green tea, and Chinese herb infused spring water pools with steam rooms and Saunas- heavenly!

resom3

resom4

Wishing I was back there! Oh well the rainy London will have to do for now.

16 comments

  1. beingzora

    Great photos! And, welcome back! Looks as if you had a great time! The Spa Castle looks wonderful. But, do tell — what did you buy — spill shopping finds! BTW, I’ve only been to London once, but rainy London is really kinda cool! It’s London, baby! The Under Lounge signage is proof that I’m not the only one who thinks so! :)

    • thelaststraggler

      Aww thanks for all the encouragement! S Korea was amazing- there was so much I wanted to share but had to select from hundreds of photos! I bought a lot of jewellery as its fantastic out there- and also some practical less glamourous stuff like a winter coat and boots as you can get quality thing for fair prices- not much cheaper than London- but a slightly different style.I was very impressed with the vintage shops and bought a v cool fushcia vintage dress and a jumper – will have to put them in another post. And yes London is cool but the rain is annoying. Thanks for reading. Have a great week! :-)

  2. maireynoso

    I’m so jealous you went to Korea! I want to go there too. I’ve been in Japan and it was amazing but I didn’t have enough time to go to Korea and I have a couple of friends in Seoul. It seems you had a great time and the food looks delicious, I love Korean food is really good. I invite you to visit my blog, NEW POST in

    http://themaiddiction.wordpress.com/

    xoxo

  3. kimberlyakinola

    Awww…. It has always been my dream to visit South-Korea and am glad you liked it cos am sure i’ll like it more. I might even decide to snatch a kdrama actor and marry too LOL. Beautiful post and thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

