London Fashion Week SS14; The Show Must Go On

ones to watch

London Fashion Week SS14 was an invogorating experience as before the buzz of any one show ended I promptly made my way to the next before the momentum dulled. Actually I did enjoy my fair share of relaxing in media chill out zones such as the Ugg lounge in the ME hotel, Glam Media suite in No 1 Aldwych, and Felicities press zone in the Waldorf. Fashion week was nevertheless hectic and I feel like I walked about ten miles simply walking back and forth between Covent Garden for the Fashion Scout shows and Somerset House for the on Schedule shows or celeb spotting (Unsuccessfully- I saw a few at off schedule shows). Each designer offered something unique and continued to establish their signature looks and those showing for the first time made their mark on the London fashion scene. There were so many stunning items of clothing I constantly felt like a kid in a candy shop- although one who admires the candy from afar.  This is what I love doing the most as I have a real appreciation for the creative genius of the designers who have managed to get this far and I’m always happy to be in a place where I can meet with like minded lovers of exquisite, innovative and timeless fashion.

IMG_0153 IMG_0170 IMG_0179

IMG_0184 IMG_0186 IMG_0183

I’m obsessed with the organza fabric and bold prints in Bernard Chandran’s collection. I was wowed by his AW13 show but was equally impressed with his latest offering.

IMG_0183 IMG_0444 IMG_0433

IMG_0437 IMG_0440 IMG_0442

Ashley Isham brought lots of glamour as expected but the collection was a diverse mix of simpler tailored pieces even suited for work or day to night looks which were shown in the run up to him unleashing his stunning evening gowns complete with intricate embellishments.

IMG_0403 IMG_0359 IMG_0375

IMG_0377 IMG_0378 IMG_0383

Krystof Strozyna even got the wigs to match his geometric theme – impressive!

IMG_0388 IMG_0402 IMG_0554 IMG_0558

Basharatyan V and Ong Oaj Pairam both demonstrated excellent tailoring and a bright spring/ summer colour palette that left me feeling sad about the appalling weather.

IMG_0204 IMG_0216  IMG_0100

IMG_0096

Jean Pierre Braganza played around with monochrome with a mixture of very minimalist looks and detailed black and white prints. Knitwear designer, Helen Lawrence, from the Ones to Watch show combined a range of different textures and materials including a futuristic clear plastic skirt.

IMG_0563 IMG_0566 IMG_0571 IMG_0572 IMG_0573 IMG_0579 IMG_0583 IMG_0585

Lulu Liu was my last show so I definitely ended my fashion week on a high as I have loved the designer since first seeing her collections at BlodyGray PR’s showroom. I have no words to sum up Lulu Liu’s work, just simply stunning.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

