Ode to My Bags

IMG_0432

IMG_0427

IMG_0424

IMG_0423

IMG_0421

IMG_0416

IMG_0414

I mentioned in this earlier post that I have a penchant for quirky vintage / second hand bags; http://thelaststraggler.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/la-mode-moments-2012/, and it got me thinking that I really have been blessed with quite a cool collection of bags that have not made much of a dent in my wallet. I am definitely a bag lady- its even my favourite Erykah Badu song and ironically I’ve found that the purchase of a new bag- especially a bargain can even help with emotional baggage- temporarily. I dream of having a giant room where I can display all of my favourite bags and escape from the stresses of life- I’m no psychotherapist so please don’t try this at home.

The keyhole bag was found in one of the many vintage shops on Stoke Newington Church Street. The vintage around there can be a bit pricey but this bag was such a bargain you probably wouldn’t believe me if I told you the price- it was a hidden gem on many levels! Then my other two fave retro bags are from Notting Hills very own Portabello Market. I know its become a bit commercial but I’ll always have a special bond with that place after having a stall there for a couple of summers a few years ago. There is still a lot of high quality vintage and other treasures, even on a Saturday, whilst most fashion insiders acknowledge Friday as the main day to find truly inspirational pieces.

For the grand finale my black and white beaded bag gets comments EVERYWHERE i go- ‘love the beadwork’, ‘love your bag’, ‘where did you get it’, ‘a charity shop’, ‘no way’! Yes way- this little gem comes from RSPCA Stoke Newington- so I got the funkiest bag I know and helped some animals- a win win! I love this bag so much I even bought my winter jacket to match. Plus it fits perfectly with presents from loved ones- the grey jumper from my gran aunt and chunky black and perspex necklace from Mum. I’ll end the post with that happy thought. This is so much cheaper than therapy! ;-)

One comment

  1. Pingback: Read All About it; My First Fashion Press Day | The Last Straggler

Leave a Reply

